Relaxing time at the Salz Luft Grotte in Berlin

Image

April is generally a very stressful time for me: a lot of cleaning and specific preparations for the Pesach holidays, relatives and friends visiting, new projects and work opportunities, travels to plan and family to pamper. I feel like an octopus without enough legs to cope with the never ending to-do-list. But, let’s not complain too much: I am living in a time and a place when despite all the emergencies, I discretely take a break and enjoy a full hour of wellness. This time, at the Salt Cave in Berlin, labelled as the largest of this kind in Germany, situated less than 10 minutes away from Olivaer Platz, near the famous Ku’damm.

Image

Once I enter, there is a feeling of peace and quietness in the air that helps me to start relaxing, after a very hectic morning. I am invited to wear a pair of white socks or some plastic shoes – the only dress code requirement, and that for clear hygienic reasons – and I am ready to enter. In a couple of seconds I enter an orange-darkish room, with a very relaxing background music in the tempo of the water running slowly on the salty walls. Everything is made of salt here – except the chaise longues and the blankets. I instantly feel the effects on my inner balance. I breath deep as much as I can, while listening to the technical explanations about the place .

Image

The water on the walls is aimed to bring a certain balance in the salty air. If inhaled in moderation, the salt can be very healthy. Some medical sources also indicates that it helps to counter depressions. Otherwise, people with allergies and asthma should rather talk with their doctor before a visit. There are special hours for families with children. The space is also used for yoga, meditation, pilates or gym, the maximum number of people allowed at the same time being 15. As for me, I only can see myself resting on a chaise longue with a book on my lap, breathing deep and focusing as much as I can to get rid of all the hardship of the last weeks.

Image

Slowly walking on salt proves to be a rewarding experience for my feet. While waiting your tour, you can have a tea prepared outside at a samovar. Reservations in advance, at least 24 hours before, are strongly recommended, especially in order to avoid overcrowding. Regularly, special prices and discounts are offered, and specific weekend for families are part of the usual demands.

Image

The entire space is designed to create the good feeling of wellbeing. The massive colourful walls are made of Himalaya salt, an orange-rose combination that creates a particular ambiance, without soliciting the eyes too much. The regular temperature can reach maximum 20 Celsius, but for those used with higher temperature there are blankets ready.

Image

The small shop at the entrance offers various salt-made products, from usual bath salts or cooking salts, to less unusual combinations, such as bonbons or heart-shaped souvenirs. Most of them are produced in Bad Kissingen, a famous spa-locality far away in the Souther part of Germany.

Unfortunately, my time is over, but long time after living, I still have the deep salty breath deep into my lungs. When I am back home, I know that even though I still have a lot of chores to do, I am going through everything with a more serene outlook. Maybe is because it reminds me of summer holidays near salty seas?

Disclaimer: I was offered a complimentary tour, but the opinions are, as usual, my own.

For more insights about Salz Luft Grotte, have a look at the dedicated Pinterest board: http://www.pinterest.com/ilanaontheroad/salz-luft-grotte-olivaerplatz-berlin/

2 thoughts on “Relaxing time at the Salz Luft Grotte in Berlin

  1. I love what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve
    you guys to my personal blogroll.

Leave a Reply

