Sick and travel? Some basic advice

As my short terms projects of trips and local reporting are somehow threatened by a rebel flu, I will dedicate this post to my worries and bothering caused by some accidental cough and a dizzy and tired state of mind. 

One of my most dangerous enemies when on the road is the headache. Because sometimes I have a long road ahead, with only a couple of hours of sleep and a lot of emotions before seeing a new place and new and old people and suddenly, the danger is here. It starts before I am aware of it and it ends a couple of days later, when eventually I am already back home. My most effective weapon is the painkiller: I hardly go anywhere without it and I wil take as many as I need until the headache is gone. And, of course, I will drink as many coffees as I should before it disappear out of my head. I have terrible memories of days when I needed to sleep at least a couple of hours before embarking on the journey because my head simply could not take my busy schedule. It is disgusting, but I cannot do anything but take the painkiller.

For various cases of flu, I have on my some basic medicine. Usually, I do not trust too much the local medicine and I better use my solutions from home. Especially, for allergies – another hidden enemy – I take always with me the same pills. The allergies taught me a very good lesson in life and I prefer to eat only food that I am familiar with and preferably cooked according to the highest standards of hygiene and purity. 

And because I know that I cannot prevent everything, if I am heading to a completely unknown destination, without any knowledge of the language and without anyone with whom to get in touch in case of emergencies, I make a list of the some English speaking emergency medical services. This is a must when you travel with children, as there are always unexpected events that may take place. 

Honestly speaking, besides the headaches, I did not face special emergencies while on the road, with or without children, but does not mean that I am less cautious. I want to have fun and enjoy my trips and I prefer to spend one more hour on planning and some extra money for buying the proper medicine than to destroy my precious time later instead on focusing on the journey.

Leave a Reply

