Lost in London, episode 1

Happy 150 years anniversary, my dear Tube! Last time when I visited you, you were a bit busy: first, it was the Xmas time when the only way of transportation is with the cab – when for 10 minutes of drive you will pay around 18£ – or with your own feet (more about this later in this post). Second, the small strike on Boxing Day, when you offered the possibility of a lot of human interaction on the buses between people almost dead after dozen of hours of waiting in the front of the shops with impressive sales (at 7am Oxford Street was full of such hunters). 

I visited London several times and almost each time I encountered some little stupid and unexpected problems. I remember when once I was a couple of days before getting my first pair of glasses (apparently was living with a -5 myopia for years, but did not care for not seeing clearly the world) and wanted to much to go in the London Eye. Everything was blurred, as usual, and as we were getting higher, I was more and more panicking thinking ‘what if this time we go to the top and never come back on the ground into one piece’. I was ignoring the fact that a couple of hours before I was higher in the sky, running fast among clouds to reach London with the help of a very cheap flight line. Meanwhile, the Eye was the work of the great British Airways – with whom I had the most amazing flight in my life. 

This time, I outperformed in a brilliant way: I ended up by missing the flight because falling asleep, but the cause of my exhaustion was also the long trip I made, by myself, from Kensington to Golders Green. Yes, I know that I walked more than 16 miles, against the rain – I bought a lovely black cheap Chinese umbrella that at the end of the day was in the garbage – and the risks of having as a company many homeless people impressed by someone quite well dressed and walking with the speed of Gulliver’s boots. The decision to walk for so many hours was the result of a couple of rational considerations (yes, it is perfectly true, nothing foolish here!): I wanted to feel London, to take some more pictures and most importantly, to put on trial my orientation skills – I am an A+ pro – my physical resistance. Plus, it was the first time in a long time when I was completely on my own and able to organize my thoughts without being bothered by complains, requests and observations. 

I made it in due time, and enjoyed the rest of the evening in the lovely European Jewish Brooklyn. In a way, I enjoyed much the quiet streets of London on the 25th compared with the business and craziness the day after. Around the Aquarium area, there were thousand of people coming and going, talking any possible languages on Earth. The buses were more than crowded and the best choice was, again, walking, instead of waiting for one hour for advancing 200 meters. It was no shopping planned – not even book shopping – and no special cultural activities, like museums and exhibitions. I made a lot of walks and enjoyed nature. I tested some delicious cakes in GG and looked almost crying seeing the merchandise from the kosher supermarkets that I forgot there exist outside America or Israel. 

The lesson of the trip: make every travel unforgettable – for a couple of days, my feet were swallowed and I begged for 12-hour of quiet sleep – get lost from time to time – especially if you are in a country where you speak the language and where you know people that will rescue you – and get enough experiences for an unusual blog post. 

And, again, thank you the Tube for such an unique experience. Can you be so kind that you punish me the last time with a very boring touristic adventure in London? Thank you and have a nice celebration! ImageThis is what you can call stylish English architecture. My eyes are trying to foget the experimental architecture of BerlinImage

Crossroad in CamdenImageThe green land from Northern LondonImage

Guess where I was?

Leave a Reply

